APPENDIX 4: PROPOSED REMIT AND MEMBERSHIP OF THE PLANNING SUB-GROUP

The remit and membership of the panel charged with overseeing the planning process during 2000/01 was agreed by FPBV Committee at its meeting on 19 September 2000.

Following the debrief exercise it is proposed that similar arrangements are used to monitor the preparation of the 2002/03 policing and performance plan (albeit with a change in name to the Planning Sub-group). In essence the sub-group would be concerned with the process of planning as well as the content of draft plans prior to formal consideration. The remit of the sub-group would be to:

- Approve the timetable for plan delivery;
- Ensure member engagement at key points (as agreed within the timetable);
- Monitor progress against the timetable;
- Approve formal products for consideration by Committees and/or the Authority.

The sub-group needs to be able to direct resources within the MPA and MPS to deliver required products. Consequently, the following members are proposed:

 Chair of FPBV Committee Deputy Chair of FPBV Committee (Best Value) Deputy Chair of FPBV Committee (Finance) Chair of Professional Standards and Performance 	Graham Tope Reshard Auladin Nicholas Long Richard Sumray
Monitoring CommitteeMPA ClerkMPA Treasurer	Catherine Crawford Peter Martin
 Assistant Commissioner (Planning, Review and Standards) Director of Resources Director of Corporate Development 	Tarique Ghaffur Keith Luck Barbara Riddell

The Chair of CDO Committee has asked for additional representation on the planning panel (given the overlaps between planning and consultation).

The sub-group would be supported by the MPA Secretariat as well as other officers.